Japanese Award Honors Indian American Lal

Rattan Lal

Must read

Tokyo, Japan – Indian American Rattan Lal, Distinguished University Professor of Soil Science at the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, bagged the 2019 Japan Prize for pushing the envelope in the field of “Biological Production, Ecology.”

Professor Lal pioneered no-tillage agriculture and methods to sequester carbon in the soil and is honored for his work in identifying technological options adapted to various ecosystems through his intensive basic and applied research on processes and factors of soil degradation caused by inappropriate biological production.

The award also recognized Lal’s work in evaluating recommended agricultural practices which reduce risks of soil degradation and of anthropogenic climate change while improving the environmental quality and addressing the critical issues of feeding the earth’s population, which is expected to reach 9.8 billion by 2050.

2019 Japan Award was also awarded to Yoshio Okamoto, Professor Emeritus at Nagoya University in Nagoya, Japan getting recognition for establishing the groundbreaking concept of asymmetric polymerization in the field of “Materials and Production.”

Okamoto contributed enormously to the development of basic science and industry by establishing the groundbreaking concept of asymmetric polymerization for the creation of a helical polymer and developed the results into a practical separation method for optically active drugs.

Highlighting its deep commitment to honor the most innovative and meaningful advances worldwide, the Japan Prize Foundation noted that the two scientists were being recognized with the 2019 Japan Prize for original and outstanding achievements that not only contribute to the advancement of science and technology, but also promote peace and prosperity for all mankind.

Announcing the laureates of the 2019 Japan Prize on January 16, the Foundation disclosed its plans to host an award ceremony on April 8, 2019 in Tokyo. Each laureate will receive a certificate of recognition and a commemorative gold medal. A cash award of 50 million Japanese yen (approximately $450,000 USD) will also be given to each prize field.

+ posts

More articles

Latest article