Flag Installation Ceremony for the Five Newly Elected Members of the Security Council for 2023-2024; and Inaugural Lunch Celebrating the E10

Must read

January 3, 2023

On January 1, the five incoming elected members—Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland—started their 2023-2024 Council term. On Sunday, Japan assumed the presidency of the Security Council.

The Flag Installation Ceremony for the Countries of the newly elected non-permanent members of the Security Council for 2023-2024 took place on Tuesday, January 3.

H.E. Ambassador Akan Rakhmetullin, Permanent Representative of Kazakhstan to the U.N. conducted the ceremony.

“Congratulations to the new 5 incoming #UNSC members as they start their 2023/24 term! I was happy and honored to conduct the ceremony of installation of their national flags 🇪🇨🇯🇵🇲🇹🇲🇿🇨🇭, a tradition initiated by🇰🇿in 2018. Wish them every success and good luck during #UNSC tenure!” Ambassador Rakhmetullin wrote on Twitter.

H.E. Ambassador Kimihiro Ishikane, Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations, reiterated the commitment of Japan to maintaining international peace and security in cooperation with the U.N. Security Council members and Member States.

“We appreciate your support for #JPNPres through the month of January”, Ambassador ISHIKANE wrote on his Twitter account.

In the Flag Installation Ceremony for the Countries H. E. Ambassador Hernán Pérez Loose, Permanent Representative of Ecuador, said Ecuador will “work to fulfill its responsibility in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations and to reach agreements that contribute to the maintenance of international peace and security.”

H.E. Ambassador Vanessa Frazier, Permanent Representative of Malta, said “Malta will continue to work to preserve peace, security, and equity for all despite the challenges the world faces at present.”

Mozambique has joined the United Nations Security Council for a two-year term, as Africa’s representative. Mozambique is joining the UNSC for the first time. Mozambique Permanent Representative to the United Nations Ambassador Pedro Comissário said UNSC membership comes “with a sense of great responsibility.” Mozambique will focus on terrorism and climate change.

“Let us never forget that the🇺🇳Charter’s 1st sentence calls us to work for the ‘succeeding generations’. #APlusForPeace 🕊”, tweeted Ambassador Pascale Baeriswyl, Permanent Representative of Switzerland.

At the inaugural celebratory lunch held immediately following the Flag Ceremony, hosted by Ranju Batra, chair Diwali Foundation USA, and Ravi Batra, chair National Advisory Council South Asian Affairs, with “best wishes” of H. E. Akan Rakhmetullin, P.R. of Kazakhstan, H. E. Olof Skoog, Head of the European Union delegation to UN, and H. E. David Bakradze, P.R. of Georgia, and applauding Kazakhstan’s continuing contributions to peace, beyond denuclearization leadership, it was noted that the “E10 are the soul of the P5 UNSC.” After a candid discussion, it was unanimously decided that immediately following the Flag ceremony, aside from traditional host-discretion, only the new E5, current E5, outgoing E5 and any PR who has already served on the Council will be invited to future annual lunches to help enhance the E10’s capacity to better deliver on the UN Charter’s goal of peace & security for all. Post-Lunch, Ravi Batra tweeted: “@RanjuBatra joins me in saluting dear @AmbKazUN @KazakhstanUN for hosting the #UNSC #Flag_Ceremony for the new E5, and starting today, over lunch welcoming the new E5, thanking outgoing E5 and best wishes to current E5. The E10 are the soul of the P5 SC.”


More articles

Latest article